History of DepED SDO Cagayan

The Department of Education was established through the Education Decree of 1863 as the Superior Commission of Primary Instruction under a Chairman. The Education agency underwent many reorganization efforts in the 20th Century in order to better define its purpose vis a vis the changing administrations and charters.


The present day Department of Education was eventually mandated through Republic Act 9155, otherwise known as the Governance of Basic Education Act of 2001 which establishes the mandate of this Agency.


The establishment of the Bureau of Education by the American Government in 1900 gave rise to the division of Cagayan. It originally covered the province of Cagayan and Isabela until April 27, 1905 when Isabela Province was made a separate Division.


The Division of Cagayan at present, has under its jurisdiction 49 elementary school districts and 108 High Schools including newly legislated High Schools, Annexes and Tech-Voc High Schools.


The Schools Division of Cagayan has always stood firmly as a witness to both the turbulence and glory of an institution. One of the most trying times in the history of the Division was the burning of its main office in Tuguegarao City. The said episode in her life sent the Superintendent Fely C. Lattao’s vision into ashes. But valiant as she was, the then Schools Division Superintendent found refuge in the adoptive DPWH building at Lingu, Solana, Cagayan to continue the delivery of educational services.


Add to this is the significant transition in leadership where Superintendent Fely C. Lattao (2012-2014) was succeeded by Superintendent Gilbert N, Tong (2014-2017) who was assisted by ASDS Marites L. Llanes and ASDS Jesus B. Maggay.


Today, the Division of Cagayan remains steadfast of her steadfast in these trying times. Her inspiration: “CAGAYAN AGGA NUMBER ONE” whose brainchild is no other than the incumbent Schools Division Superintendent, Leila P. Areola, PhD., CESO VI who are now supported by the able leadership of ASDS Benito S. Alipio Jr., CESE and ASDS Marites L. Llanes.


The Department of Education (DepEd) formulates, implements and coordinates policies, plans, programs and projects in the areas of formal and non-formal basic education. It supervises all elementary and secondary education institutions, including alternative learning systems, both public and private; it provides for the establishment and maintenance of a complete, adequate, and integrated system of basic education relevant to goal of national development.